Free Book Online
Book Antiques: A Novel

Pdf

Antiques: A Novel

3.5 (1231)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Antiques: A Novel.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Kris D'Agostino(Author)

    Book details


A family reunites after the death of its patriarch just as a hurricane tears through town in this "sparklingly funny novel about love, power, money, and adult siblings finding the beating heart of what matters most: one another" (People).

On the night of a massive hurricane, three estranged siblings learn that their father is dying. For the first time in years, they convene at their childhood home in upstate New York, where the storm has downed power lines, flooded houses, and destroyed the family's antique store.

The Westfalls are no strangers to dysfunction. But never have their lives felt so out of control. Armie is living in their parents' basement. In Manhattan, Josef, a sex-addicted techie, is struggling to repair his broken relationship with his daughters. Their sister, Charlie, who works in Hollywood as a publicist for a wayward young actress, just learned that her son has been expelled from preschool. Amid the storm, they come together to plan their father's memorial service, only to learn his dying wish--they must sell his priceless Magritte painting. As their failures are laid bare, they discover that hope often lurks in the darkest of places. And so, too, can hilarity.

Complete with an irresistible plot and deeply flawed, affectionately rendered characters, Kris D'Agostino's "sharp, funny [novel] conveys the disorienting and ever-shifting effects of grief" (The New York Times) and the unexpected epiphanies that emerge in chaos. This "darkly humorous portrait of the American family under duress...balances scathing and humorous commentary on the foibles of family with keen insight" (Publishers Weekly). Perfect for "fans of funny family dysfunction novels like Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You...and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest" (Booklist), The Antiques is a heartbreaking, nimble, laugh-out-loud funny send-up of modern family life.

"D'Agostino's sparklingly funny novel is about love, power, money and adult siblings find the beating heart of what matters most: one another."--People"The Antiques is a literary hurricane of hilarity, heartbreak, and familial redemption. Kris D'Agostino juggles a stolen model-rocket, a patriarchal funeral, a runaway movie actress, and a potentially priceless painting all the way to the novel's very satisfying ending. The Westfall family could be the Tenenbaums of Upstate New York."--Nickolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs and The Hearts of Men"Kris D'Agostino presents a funhouse mirror in The Antiques, delivering a cast of characters at once utterly familiar and completely absurd. But the real magic here is the fact that these people are still so dear. D'Agostino elevates this novel from a funny story about a dysfunctional family to a bright examination of the American man and woman. The Antiques is witty, charming and delightful, but in critiquing the choices we make as moderns, it packs a firm punch."--Lydia Netzer, author of Shine Shine Shine"Kris D'Agostino's The Antiques is about family and how -- no, wait, it's not one of those treacly, warmed-over novels about family. It's witty and trenchant and dark and stylish, the black sheep of the family-novel genre, the one who's not invited to Thanksgiving but crashes it anyway to the delight of the younger relatives and the horror of the elders." -- Teddy Wayne, author of Loner and The Love Song of Johnny Valentine"The death of a family patriarch and an impending hurricane create a perfect literary storm in this wonderfully wise and darkly comic novel. I love this story of family, friendship, loss and redemption. Most of all, despite their sometimes hilarious flaws, I love the Westfalls."--Ann Leary, New York Times bestselling author of The Good House"In The Antiques, Kris D'Agostino introduces us to a messy, delinquent, outrageous family plunged into mourning when the patriarch dies. While other writers might see this as an opportunity to throw ashes of grief on their characters' heads, D'Agostino comes at us briskly, shaking our hand with a joy buzzer. This book also reminds us that life and laughter still continue even after our loved ones have left us. The Antiques is an exuberant, lusty novel that had me laughing in the most inappropriate places. I loved it!"--David Abrams, author of the New York Times Notable book Fobbit"A perfect drama for readers who liked Herman Koch's The Dinner and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings."--Library Journal"A darkly humorous portrait of the American family under duress....D'Agostino balances scathing and humorous commentary on the foibles of family with keen insight into his characters."--Publishers Weekly"[A] humorous novel..with funny, crisp dialogue...will indubitably appeal to fans of funny family dysfunction novels like Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You...and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest."--Booklist"A funny, perceptive story about the surprisingly strong bonds holding together a disparate family who gather after the death of its patriarch."--Shelf Awareness"Spend a week with the Westfalls, the feisty clan at the center of Kris D'Agostino's second novel, "The Antiques," and you may feel better about your own family...very funny."--News Day"There's not a sluggish moment in Kris D'Agostino's second novel . . . with sharp, funny dialogue that never seems formulaic. More impressively, he conveys the disorienting and ever-shifting effects of grief."--New York Times"Sharp as a mean older sister's comeback and witty as the brother who always gets under your skin, The Antiques is dark humor delivered lightly, and at a quick clip that makes it hard to put down."--The Rumpus"Fast-paced, dark and funny."--Largehearted Boy-D'Agostino's sparklingly funny novel is about love, power, money and adult siblings find the beating heart of what matters most: one another.---People-The Antiques is a literary hurricane of hilarity, heartbreak, and familial redemption. Kris D'Agostino juggles a stolen model-rocket, a patriarchal funeral, a runaway movie actress, and a potentially priceless painting all the way to the novel's very satisfying ending. The Westfall family could be the Tenenbaums of Upstate New York.---Nickolas Butler, internationally bestselling author of Shotgun Lovesongs and The Hearts of Men-Kris D'Agostino presents a funhouse mirror in The Antiques, delivering a cast of characters at once utterly familiar and completely absurd. But the real magic here is the fact that these people are still so dear. D'Agostino elevates this novel from a funny story about a dysfunctional family to a bright examination of the American man and woman. The Antiques is witty, charming and delightful, but in critiquing the choices we make as moderns, it packs a firm punch.---Lydia Netzer, author of Shine Shine Shine-Kris D'Agostino's The Antiques is about family and how -- no, wait, it's not one of those treacly, warmed-over novels about family. It's witty and trenchant and dark and stylish, the black sheep of the family-novel genre, the one who's not invited to Thanksgiving but crashes it anyway to the delight of the younger relatives and the horror of the elders.- -- Teddy Wayne, author of Loner and The Love Song of Johnny Valentine-The death of a family patriarch and an impending hurricane create a perfect literary storm in this wonderfully wise and darkly comic novel. I love this story of family, friendship, loss and redemption. Most of all, despite their sometimes hilarious flaws, I love the Westfalls.---Ann Leary, New York Times bestselling author of The Good House-In The Antiques, Kris D'Agostino introduces us to a messy, delinquent, outrageous family plunged into mourning when the patriarch dies. While other writers might see this as an opportunity to throw ashes of grief on their characters' heads, D'Agostino comes at us briskly, shaking our hand with a joy buzzer. This book also reminds us that life and laughter still continue even after our loved ones have left us. The Antiques is an exuberant, lusty novel that had me laughing in the most inappropriate places. I loved it!---David Abrams, author of the New York Times Notable book Fobbit-A perfect drama for readers who liked Herman Koch's The Dinner and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings.---Library Journal-A darkly humorous portrait of the American family under duress....D'Agostino balances scathing and humorous commentary on the foibles of family with keen insight into his characters.---Publishers Weekly-[A] humorous novel..with funny, crisp dialogue...will indubitably appeal to fans of funny family dysfunction novels like Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You...and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.---Booklist-A funny, perceptive story about the surprisingly strong bonds holding together a disparate family who gather after the death of its patriarch.---Shelf Awareness-Spend a week with the Westfalls, the feisty clan at the center of Kris D'Agostino's second novel, -The Antiques,- and you may feel better about your own family...very funny.---News Day-There's not a sluggish moment in Kris D'Agostino's second novel . . . with sharp, funny dialogue that never seems formulaic. More impressively, he conveys the disorienting and ever-shifting effects of grief.---New York Times-Sharp as a mean older sister's comeback and witty as the brother who always gets under your skin, The Antiques is dark humor delivered lightly, and at a quick clip that makes it hard to put down.---The Rumpus-Fast-paced, dark and funny.---Largehearted Boy-The Antiques is a keenly observed, eminently readable, all-kinds-of-funny ride, and I urge you to take it.---Jonathan Evison,New York Times bestselling author of West of Here and The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving: A Novel: If you love Emma Straub's novels, pick up The Antiques by Kris D'Agostino as quickly as you can."--LitHub"The Antiques is a keenly observed, eminently readable, all-kinds-of-funny ride, and I urge you to take it."--Jonathan Evison,New York Times bestselling author of West of Here and The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving: A Novel

3.4 (5834)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 304 pages
  • Kris D'Agostino(Author)
  • Scribner Book Company; Reprint edition (5 Dec. 2017)
  • English
  • 3
  • Fiction

Read online or download a free book: Antiques: A Novel

 

Review Text


Name:
Email*:
The message text*: